Thursday, 24 November 2011


Fish are a class of aquatic vertebrates.  The combination of gills, fins and the fact that they live only in the water make fish different from all other animals.

Fish spend all of their lives in the water and are cold-blooded with the exception of Tuna family and the Mackerel shark family.

Tuna Fish
Mackerel Shark

Scientists believe that there are more than 24,000 different species of fish in the world.

They range in size from the largest, Whale shark at 16 m (51 ft) long, to the smallest the 8 mm (1/4 in.) Stout Infantfish.

Stout Infantfish

Whale shark

Most fish have a skeleton made of bone but some, like sharks, have a skeleton made of cartilage.

Many people mistakenly group whales and dolphins into the fish family. They are actually mammals.  They are warm-blooded, feed their babies with milk from their bodies and breathe air into lungs.

Jellyfish and starfish are not fish at all!  They are marine invertebrates.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Elders Scroll Skyrim Pointer